The Three Peaks

Whernside, viewed from near Ingleton Ingleborough Pen-y-ghent
Some more views of the Three Peaks and the Three Peaks area

The "Three Peaks" of Whernside, Ingleborough and Penyghent dominate the skylines of the western side of the Yorkshire Dales.

Although not the highest mountains in the country, these spectacular and distinctively shaped fells are undoubtedly impressive, towering as they do over the surrounding moors and countryside near Settle, Ingleton, and Ribblehead - and they are of course very popular with walkers, climbers and ramblers.

Geologically, the Three Peaks are all of millstone grit capping limestone, and as a consequence the area is also popular with cavers and potholers exploring the innumerable cave systems which have been formed by the streams and rivers running off the fells. [N.B. For more information on the area's caves and potholes, please see caving and potholing in the Yorkshire Dales].

Each of the Three Peaks can be climbed separately, though they are sometimes tackled "in one go" (often on a sponsored basis to raise money for charity) as the classic "Three Peaks" walk (traditionally starting and finishing in Horton in Ribblesdale).

Other Three Peaks related websites

For more information about the Three Peaks, the Three Peaks walk and places to visit in the surrounding area, please also visit the following externally maintained website(s) and information sources:

[N.B. Please mention the Eagle Intermedia Yorkshire Dales website when making your enquiries.]

The Yorkshire Dales - Home Page

The Yorkshire Dales website is designed, maintained and promoted by Eagle Intermedia Publishing Ltd.

The Yorkshire Dales